Drinking our Cheap Bottles of Wine

Now, I’m not usually the kind of guy who listens to songs and picks out tiny bits of lyrics thinking that somehow the singer/songwriter had me in mind when they wrote the song. I don’t hear a song and say, “Yes, this defines who I am.” I like music. For the most part, I like all kinds of music. People think it’s weird because I don’t always analyze the lyrics of songs. I like the sound, the rhythm. Of course I listen to the lyrics too, but only just…and really just to be able to sing along, I guess.

I was kind of sideswiped recently though. A song came on the radio while Kellie and I were driving home one night.  It sounded good, so I started listening to the lyrics. I can honestly say that rarely has a song ever stirred emotion in me the way this song did. For those of you who know me, it’s no surprise that the second verse was what caught my attention.

It struck me in a couple ways. I wanted to say, “Get out of my head!” I have had a huge array of emotions go through my mind and heart since I was laid off. Pain, anger, sadness, guilt, depression. Feelings of failure, not only to myself but to Kellie. I know she has needed me, but I always feel like I’m pushing through the crowd trying to get to her while I’ve been dealing with this.

I have faith that we will emerge triumphant, we just have to get there.

The Script — For the First Time

She’s all laid up in bed with a broken heart
While I’m drinking Jack all alone in my local bar and we don’t know how
How we got into this mad situation, only doing things out of frustration
Trying to make it work, but, man, these times are hard

She needs me now but I can’t seem to find the time
I got a new job now on the unemployment line and we don’t know how
How we got into this mess, is it God’s test? Someone help us ’cause we’re doing our best
Trying to make things work, but, man, these times are hard

But we’re gonna stop by drinking our cheap bottles of wine
Sit talking up all night, saying things we haven’t for a while, a while, yeah
We’re smiling but we’re close to tears, even after all these years
We just now got the feeling that we’re meeting for the first time

She’s in line at the dole with her head held high
While I just lost my job but didn’t lose my pride, and we both now how
How we’re going to make it work when it hurts, when you pick yourself up you get kicked to the dirt
Tryin’ to make it work, but, man, these times are hard

But we’re gonna start by drinking our cheap bottles of wine
Sit talking up all night, doing things we haven’t for a while, a while, yeah
We’re smiling but we’re close to tears, even after all these years
We just now got the feeling that we’re meeting for the first time

Drinking our cheap bottles of wine
Sit talking up all night, saying things we haven’t for a while, a while, yeah
We’re smiling but we’re close to tears, even after all these years
We just now got the feeling that we’re meeting for the first time

For the first time
Oh, for the first time
Yeah, for the first time
We just now got the feeling that we’re meeting for the first time

Oh, these times are hard, yeah, they’re making us crazy
Don’t give up on me, baby
Oh, these times are hard, yeah, they’re making us crazy
Don’t give up on me, baby

~ by jerrodketchersid on March 27, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

